Restore a recently deleted user


You can restore a user account up to 20 days after deleting it. After you restore the account, the user gets back access to their managed Google account (for example, their G Suite or Cloud Identity account).

A G Suite user gets back all access to their email, calendars, and other G Suite data (excluding Google+ data), and to their Google Cloud Platform permissions. Google+ data is not restored when a recently deleted user is recovered.

After 20 days, the data is gone and Google Support can’t restore it, either. 

Learn more about deleting users

You must be signed in as a super administrator for this task.

Restore a user

  1. In your Google Admin console (at admin.google.com)...

  2. Go to Users.
  3. Above the Users list, click Add a filter and choose Recently deleted.


    Find this option at the top of the user list

  4. Hover over the user you want to recover and click Recover Restore.

    Point to the row with the user you plan to restore
     
  5. Review the confirmation notice. Then click Continue.
  6. Select the organizational unit you want to assign the user to.
  7. Click Recover.

Note: It can take up to 24 hours for this change to take effect.

If the user was previously suspended or had their data transferred, they'll show as a suspended user. To give them access, see Restore a suspended user.

You can’t restore a user if...

  • It's been longer than 20 days since you deleted the user account. 

  • The username has been given to someone else as a primary address or email alias. Or if it’s used for a group.

  • You don't have an available user license.