Manage Directory Profile Changes For Users
As a G Suite administrator, you can control how users can edit their profile information. Note: the Services - Directory - Settings privileges are required to change these settings. Login as a Super Admin, Services Admin, or with a custom role with these privileges to change the settings.
Use the Directory page settings to manage user profile changes.
In your Google Admin console (at admin.google.com)...
- From the Admin console, go to Apps > G Suite > Directory.
- On the Directory page, click Profile editing. You can choose to allow user editing for each of the following:
Check the Name checkbox to allow users to edit their profile name and nickname. Un-check the box to disable user editing.
This Name setting replaces the "Edit name" option in the Google+ settings
If you uncheck Photo, a warning dialog appears to show that user profile and cover photos will be archived. The actual photos that were used aren't deleted. They are preserved in the user's Photos Archive, but they are no longer used as their profile or cover photo.
The checkbox has no effect on the low-resolution photo set in Gmail.
This will allow user birthday editing in their Google Account and the Google+ upgrade flow for all non-Education domains. Education domains will not have this control available. For Education domains, birthday is never editable by end users except for in the Google+ upgrade flow, where it is always editable.
Note: If a user enters a birthday indicating they are too young, their account may be disabled.