Limit visibility of group messages


As a G Suite administrator, you can control who sees messages sent to a group in your domain. You can set visibility options so only members of a group can:

  •   See members of the group
  •   Join the group
  •   Post to the group
  •   Read and search the message archive

You can set the visibility level when you create groups using the Admin console, Google Groups, or APIs. You can also audit existing groups to find groups that let non-members view messages and change their visibility level.



Set visibility of groups in Admin console

As a G Suite administrator, you can set the visibility level when you create a group in the Google Admin console:

  1.   Create a group in the Admin console.
  2.   From the Access Level drop-down list, choose the visibility level.

Set visibility in Google Groups

As a G Suite administrator, you can set the visibility options for existing groups in Google Groups:

  1.   Sign in to your Google Admin console.Sign in using your administrator account (does not end in @gmail.com).
  2.   From the Admin console Home page, go to Groups.To see Groups, you might have to click More controls at the bottom,To see Groups, you might have to click More controls at the bottom.
  3.  Click the name of the group you want to modify.
  4.   Click Access Settings. You’re taken to the group's Access permissions page in your Groups for Business service.
  5.   Select the settings you want to change under Basic permissions and Access permissions.


Set visibility with APIs

When you create a group using the Directory API, the default for the View Topics option is set to All members of the group.

To view and update visibility settings, you can use the Directory API and Groups Settings API, or the third-party tool, Google Apps Manager (GAM).

Sample scripts are available on GitHub that you can customize for your own use.



Still Required support: Please drop us at support@brio.co.in